Throwback Thursdays (April 4, 2013)

Throwback Thursdays: The rules are simple, pick a favorite book of your past, and post about it. You can pick a quote from the series, post the blurb, maybe write what was your favorite thing about the book. Pick a book that you haven’t read for a long time, and spread the word about it’s awesomeness, in something less or shorter than a review. Once you have your Throwback posted, come here and post a link in the comment section.

Pet Semetary

Dale Midkiff as Louis Creed

Pet Sematary 

“When Louis Creed & his family move from Chicago into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son–and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all…right down to the friendly cat.
The road in front of their home frequently claims the lives of neighborhood pets. Near their house, local children have created a cemetery for the dogs & cats killed by the steady stream of transports on the busy highway. Deeper in the woods lies another graveyard, an ancient Indian burial ground whose sinister properties Louis discovers when the family cat is killed.”

My first love

This book made me fall in love with Stephen King. We first met when I was around 10. I found Pet Sematary at the library. I was hooked. It was love at first sight. I’ve always loved horror. He introduced me to another kind. It wasn’t just about the blood and gore. King invaded your mind with his words. He took basic human emotions and mixed them with suspense, dread, horror and the supernatural. He didn’t just scare you. King fucked with your mind.

This books scared the crap out of me as a kid. I would stay up late reading. I would get so scared that I would put the book down for a bit before picking it up.

The best part of the book was how King presented you with this Norman Rockwell picture of the Creeds in the beginning and by the end of the book, that family is ripped to shreds.

A must read for King fans.

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursdays (April 4, 2013)

  1. I’m rereading The Pelican Brief. I hadn’t touched it in at least 15 years and wanted to refresh my mind as to why I loved it so. If I’m not mistaken, it was John Grisham’s third novel, and definitely a good one to read over. This is almost like The Firm except with a woman on the run. The way the story’s shaping up, it certainly’s making me continue reading. For sure.

    And since I’ve mentioned The Firm, I might as well mention some thoughts about it, eh? I thought the book was incredible. I got this underlying message that Mitch was a character who was deceived by the shininess of the firm. Everything looked so great on the outside. Everyone was happy. Everyone had piles of cash to blow. And everyone would do anything for the firm. But the undercurrent story is nothing appears as it seems. Although everything looked shiny on the outside, it was rotten from the inside out. The employees worked 80 hour weeks, didn’t have family lives, and the firm also condoned large family (as a way to entrap them to be dependent on the firm). Talk about getting personal, huh? The book read almost like a guy who wanted to get out of a cult. It definitely was an eye-opener for me.

    Anyway, I love your Throwback Thursdays. It’s a great way for folks to write what’s on their mind about good books they’ve read in the past!

    • I’m glad you like Throwback Thursdays. Its a great way to remember books that we love and to share it with others. I haven’t been blogging lately. Life has been ultra busy. I need to get back to it. I like how you are so dedicated to posting something every day.
      I’ve read the Firm and I enjoyed it. I also liked the movie. You’re right. The firm was like a cult. Honestly I don’t know too many people that would turn down a nice home, car, trips and everything else they threw it him. But things like that come at a cost.
      Thanks again for replying Jack!!!!!

  2. I’ve got the new David Sedaris book, Exploring diabetes with owls. While I devoured it greedily from beginning to end and found that it was indeed funny, it is not quite as good as Me Talk Pretty One Day, which I consider his masterpiece.
    Me talk pretty one day is a memoir that recounts various stages of growing up and learning (especially languages, especially French, taught by a vicious and psychotic instructor). I reread this book every so often and marvel at its genius. Occasionally I force innocent bystanders to listen to choice passages or even entire chapters as I read them aloud.
    I agree, Throwback Thursdays are a great idea!

Leave a Reply

