Book Review: Splintered

Splintered

When I first saw this book, I fell in love with the cover. I thought it was whimsical, haunting and alluring. The cover was the complete opposite of the book.

Thanks to Lewis Carroll, A.G. Howard already had the foundation laid for her. The story was a different spin on Alice in Wonderland. She gave Carroll’s characters alter egos that were on the Gothic side. Instead of the White Rabbit, Howard gave us Rabid White, a grotesque, hairless, bony looking rabbit. The story included talking flowers that ate humans and other weird little creatures. The Mad Hatter is Herman Hattington, a strange looking “thing” without a face and a weird hat-like contraption on his head.

I must say, I’m not a huge Alice in Wonderland fan. I blame Tom Petty for it. In the 80s, when MTV actually played videos, he came came out with an Alice in Wonderland theme for his song “Don’t Come Around Here No More.” That video scared me as a kid. At the tea party, guests sat around and ate Alice, whose body was a cake. The whole thing just gave me the chills. I just didn’t like it.

The story and characters were not strong. I felt like the only thing the author did was take the pretty version of Carroll’s story and darkened it up a bit. It wasn’t suspenseful nor interesting. She tried to throw in a love triangle that felt pretty out of place. I kept thinking “Who is the demographic for this book?” The book was boring. I was waiting for something interesting to happen to make me perk up but it never did.

This book had no pulse and not even worth a boozy rating.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Splintered

  1. I haven’t read this book, but I do remember when MTV and Canada’s counterpart, Much Music used to play music videos too. I haven’t a clue as to why both stations stopped doing that. I used to love going there and seeing my favorite songs brought to life by the bands. Nowadays, youtube does that but it’s not the same. I loved the countdowns and youtube does have countdowns. I wish videos would come back in vogue. I miss flipping over there and watching it on the big screen.

    • Hey Jacko,
      I’m sorry. I felt the need to combine your names. LOL. Anyway, I think the success of MTV’s the Real World led to the demise of 24/7 videos. I do miss the countdowns too. It was neat to see what video was in the Top Ten or fell down a couple of notches. I didn’t even know Youtube did a countdown. I don’t really watch too many videos up there. I like them better on the big screen. I didn’t ask this in my very short review. Have you ever been so hyped up about a book and was disappointed after you read it.

  2. Ohh, that’s so unfortunate. I was so excited about this book. I loved Alice in Wonderland! At least the animation. I’ve watched it a hundred times when I was a child, lol.

    • You can still be excited about it. You may love it. I know there’s lots of books out there that folks like but I can’t stand. LOL. I guess for me, I wanted something that was just totally different. I read Alice in Zombieland but the author just didn’t insert the original characters and only change their appearance and name. I was expecting a little more. You should still read it and tell me what you think. Do you have this book over there?

Leave a Reply

