WWW Wednesdays (March 13, 2013)

Bee Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly event where you share (1)What you’re currently reading, (2)What you recently finished reading, and (3)What you think you’ll read next.

and the mountains echoed

Today in my inbox, Goodreads.com sent me an email about Khaled Hosseini’s newest book And the Mountains Echoed. I’m a huge fan of his other novels The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. I’m big on character development and flushing out a good story. Both novels touched me emotionally and I felt so connected to the characters. Hosseini has the ability to write characters who are so flawed that you hate them but at the same time, makes you empathize with them too. I’m anxious to this one. It comes out on March 21.

An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else.



In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those closest to us, at the times that matter most. Following its characters and the ramifications of their lives and choices and loves around the globe—from Kabul to Paris to San Francisco to the Greek island of Tinos—the story expands gradually outward, becoming more emotionally complex and powerful with each turning page.

About the Author

khaled

With more than ten million copies sold in the United States of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, and more than thirty-eight million copies sold worldwide in more than seventy countries, Khaled Hosseini is one of most widely read and beloved novelists in the entire world. The Kite Runner spent 103 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list, and A Thousand Splendid Suns debuted as a #1 New York Times bestseller, remaining in the #1 spot for fifteen weeks, and spending nearly an entire year on the bestseller list. Hosseini is a Goodwill Envoy to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the UN Refugee Agency, and the founder of The Khaled Hosseini Foundation, a nonprofit which provides humanitarian assistance to the people of Afghanistan.

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (March 13, 2013)

  1. I’m going with your prompt on this one. (1) What I’m currently reading: The Brethren by John Grisham. I just started this yesterday and barely through Chapter 2. So far so good. This is the classic Grisham I know and love. (2) What I recently finished reading: The Racketeer by John Grisham. I found this book difficult to get through. I liked it, but it was a hard read. He even wrote an Author Note relating why he wrote this book in long endless paragraphs. (3) What you think you’ll read next: The Testament by John Grisham. Told you I was on a Grisham kick! Either this or The Partner, but we’ll see. 🙂

    • You are SO on a Grisham kick. LOL!! I had to look up The Brethren on Goodreads.com. I’ve never heard of it. OK, so you have three judges in a federal prison looking to scam somebody. LOL. What in the world?! Now that sounds like an interesting book. I was on a Grisham kick a few years back. He’s an interesting character. I watched Charlie Rose interview him on PBS once. He had a little cockiness to him but it didn’t come across as rude. What I really admired about Grisham is his passion for helping others. By the way, he lives in my state in Charlottesville. If I roll up on him one day, I will say Jack Flacco REALLY enjoys you work. 😉

Leave a Reply

