RumChata Cupcakes

sweet things 3
rum chata

Hot damn!!! I just found me a new cupcake recipe and it got alcohol in it ya’ll. I’ve never heard of RumChata but according to the blog Love, Life & Creative Things, it tastes like cinnamon toast crunch, which is my favorite cereal. Seriously, I want to run out to the store and bake me some cupcakes. This will definitely be on my baking list for this weekend.

RumChata Cupcakes

(Yields: 24 cupcakes. Batter is thick)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick, at room temperature)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup RumChata
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 egg whites
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 350*
  • Combine sugar & butter and beat until fluffy
  • Mix together flour, baking powder, salt, & cinnamon, set aside
  • Mix the RumChata & vanilla together, set aside
  • Alternating, add in the flour mixture and RumChata mixture in to the butter and sugar. Start and end with the flour mixture.
  • In a clean mixing bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form (this will be easiest in an electric mixer)
  • Fold egg whites in to the batter – do not do this in an electric mixer, use a spatula
  • Fill cupcake liners
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until cake “bounces back” when touched.
RumChata Cream Cheese Frosting
NOTE: This makes A LOT of frosting. I tend to use quite a bit on my cupcakes. I ended up with a cup extra. So, if you don’t use a lot, cut the recipe in half. (I also normally freeze my leftover frosting for use later. I label and date it, I’ve used some that’s been frozen for just about 5 months and it tasted fine)
Ingredients:
  • 12 ounces of cream cheese (1 1/2 packages, at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick, at room temperature)
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla
  • 5 tbsp of RumChata
  • 1 package of confectioners’ sugar (2 lb. bag)
Directions:
Note: The frosting is pretty sweet. I had some people say it was just enough, others said it was a little too much. It is REALLY tasty, so of course I was in favor of having more of it.
  • Combine butter and cream cheese until smooth
  • Add vanilla
  • Slowly add confectioners’ sugar
  • Mix in RumChata (use more or less based on the thickness of the frosting. I often find that some days I would use 5 tbsp, some I would use 4)
  • Frost the cupcakes

Refrigerate if not serving immediately.

Recipe found at Love, Life & Creative Things.

Leave a Reply

