Musing Mondays (March 3, 2013)

Musing Mondays Theme 2

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to muse about one of the following each week: (1) Describe one of your reading habits. (2) Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s). (3) Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

Splintered

Right now I’m reading Splintered. I must say that I was drawn to the cover before I even knew what the book was about. It was designed by Nathalia Suellen. In the book, Alyssa Gardner can hear insects and plants talk. I loved the way Suellen was able to use them in the drawing. The color choices are so bold and they draw you in.

Dark Queen of Hearts

Queen of Hearts designed by Nathalia Suellen

I’ve only read 90 pages so far. I must admit the story is dragging a little. I’m waiting for the climax. Something needs to happen. I was so tempted to put it down and pick up something else.

The story is another spin on Alice in Wonderland. Alyssa Gardner’s great-great-great grandmother was the real Alice. Lewis Carroll developed a story based on Alice’s dream. Apparently the women in Gardner’s family are cuckoo including her mother who is in a mental home.

Alyssa is so worried that she will turn out like her mother because she is seeing and hearing things. After an explosive episode with her mother, Alyssa begins to wonder if there was more to her grandmother’s story. So Alice sets out on this journey to find the truth.

Now all of this does make for an interesting story. I’m just waiting for something interesting to happen. I get that we need a little background information before we get to the juicy parts but damn, I’m getting a little tired of Alyssa already. She’s a tad bit irritating.

So there you go. I can’t wait to finish and write a review

6 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (March 3, 2013)

  1. The art is gorgeous!! A lot of people are talking about this book but I haven’t read too many reviews so can’t wait for yours. 🙂

    • The cover is too cute!!! And I will be posting a review shortly. Like I said, the books is dragging a bit. I hope that it starts to pick up soon. It has the makings to be a really good book.

  2. I’m still reading The Racketeer. Half-way through. I’m only reading it while I’m on the train to and from the city. It’s such a great book. Then again, anything from Grisham is amazing. Well, you already know that from me.

    I have a Nexus 7. It’s like an iPad mini but with a better resolution. I’ve loaded it up with ten books from my favorite authors. It’s great to have when I’m in between projects or during my travels. What I like about it is the reader I use. It has crisp fonts, and has many options I have yet to explore. I thought I’d mention that considering the amount of reading I do.

    BTW, that Splintered cover looks incredible!

    • You are having a moment with John Grisham. LOL. That’s OK. I love me some Stephen King. I swear if I were the stalking type, I would be up in Bangor, Maine scoping him out. His newest book Doctor Sleep, which is the sequel to the Shining, comes out in September. I’m feeling like a kid at Christmas. I can’t wait to read it. He has all these amazing exclusive covers coming out. Unfortunately, I’m not dropping almost $400 on a book. Crazy. I’ll just get the little $20 one.
      Let me ask you this, do you like your reader or do you prefer books. Almost three years ago, a friend bought me a Kindle. I must admit, it sat in the closet for almost a year before I even used it. I really didn’t download a lot of books on it. Then earlier this year, my co-worker bought me the Kindle Fire HD. I really like it but I haven’t read a book on it yet. I’m awful. I’ve downloaded a lot of books on it. I love downloading. I just haven’t read one yet. I’m awful.I’m old fashioned so I still love buying books. Its my first love. The Kindle is great and I use it for so many other things like watching movies and web.
      Glad you liked the cover. It is beautiful. I want to purchase the Queen of Hearts print that was featured in the blog. I really like the designers work. I’m into dark fantasy art.
      Anyway, thanks Jack for reading as usual. Take care.

  3. I just got done with Splintered myself; I thought it was very well written with lots of twist that even I couldn’t have guessed. The cover was what drew me to it also. I hope you enjoy it, it inspired me to actually read the original Alice in Wonderland. I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

