Musing Mondays (Feb. 11, 2013)

Musing Mondays Theme 2 Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to muse about one of the following each week: (1) Describe one of your reading habits. (2) Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s). (3) Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

Beautiful Creatures Book Cover

Right now I’m reading Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

After seeing the trailer a while back, I knew I had to read the book. So far its good. I’m only 100 pages or so in. I’m still waiting for the climax where things start to get intense. Right now the town main characters are Lena Duchannes and Ethan Wate. Most folks compare them to Bella and Edward from Twilight.

What I’m loving most about the book is getting to know about Lena and her family. There are so many dark hidden secrets. With each turn of a page, I’m learning more about them.

There are a total of four books in the series. I’m hoping that if this one is great, I will be looking forward to reading the others in the future.

The film hits theaters Feb. 13.

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Feb. 11, 2013)

  1. (1) My reading habits are fairly fixed. I read on my commute into and from the city every day, and at night just before bed. (2) I bought John Grisham’s The Racketeer because it’s Grisham and because I thought it was an interesting story! (3) And as you probably know already, I’m reading A Time to Kill by Grisham. Yeah, I guess I am on a John Grisham kick! LOL

    • Sorry for the late reply. I have been so busy lately. I just got back from NYC and I haven’t even had a chance to update my blog. Plus I got this new gig freelancing for an entertainment and I’m trying to juggle that plus work. Crazy. I usually read at night or during lunch if I’m not eating with anyone. Sometimes I feel like I’m incomplete if I don’t read just a few pages of something. You are on that Grisham kick!!! LOL. Nothing wrong with that. I think its great. I use to be that way with Patricia Cornwell (I think that’s her last name, no time to look it up). I loved her books. You should check her out too.

      • Hey, good luck with your new gig, sounds exciting. Boy, you’re busy. I’m glad I’m on this side of the border not witnessing your scurrying about from gig to gig. I’d be unraveled, haha! So I’m into the first 77 pages of The Racketeer. And yes, I’m on a Grisham kick. I love his writing style (crisp, clear and no distracting metaphors). Gosh, he’s good. I don’t want it to end. I have a pile of his books I’m burning through and I wish he could write more than a book a year…but hey, I have almost 20 years to catch up so…I’m not complaining.

        Oh, BTW, thanks for all your beautiful comments on my blog. I really appreciate you reading my stuff. It doesn’t go unnoticed. Anyway, enjoy your next read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

