Game of Thrones: A Storm of Swords

A Storm of Swords

Title: Game of Thrones: A Storm of Sword

Author: George R.R.Martin

Read from January 9, 2013 to February 07, 2013

Genre: Science Fiction Fantasy

“The singers make much of kings who die valiantly in battle, but your life is worth more than a song.”

Background 

For those not familiar with the earlier novels, I will give you a quick snippet of what’s been going on.

King Robert I Baratheon, the King of the Iron Throne, is the ruler of the Seven Kingdoms. Robert has died and his son Joffery Baratheon has taken his place. Robert’s own brothers as well as others in the Kingdom aren’t too pleased with this. Plus Joffrey did a very bad thing and set some shit off that has a lot of folks upset. War has erupted and folks are fighting to take control of the Iron Throne.

That’s the jest of the story. In the third book, war is ragging on, battles are being fought, enemies are being made and no one is safe.

To call this an epic novel is an understatement. A Storm of Swords, the third book in the series,  is a monstrous piece of writing that takes each reader on an amazing journey through the Seven Kingdoms. Each chapter is separated into major key players, which gives readers time to understand the characters.

My Thoughts

Just like the other novels, this book was long as hell. It took a month for me to read it. I’m a fast reader but not that fast. I was trying to get through the book quick because Season 3 premieres on HBO on March 31.

As I get further along in the series, I find that each character has grown tremendously. In the first book, Robb Stark was just Lord of Winterfell. He didn’t have much responsibility and enjoyed just being a young man. In a Clash of Kings, Stark is forced to grow up when tragedy strikes his family. It is in a Storm of Swords that readers see Stark take on a leadership role. For someone so young, he has so much riding on his shoulders. His youthfulness will be his downfall.

Another character that has really changed from since Game of Thrones is Jaime Lannister, Lord Commander of the Kingsguard. Lannister is a smug, unapologetic, ruthless character. If it wasn’t for his good looks, there wouldn’t be much to like. Yet at the end of the book, I admired him more than I did anyone else. He owned up to his flaws. What you see is what you get. Underneath that rough exterior is someone devoted to his role as Lord Commander. Even though he has made questionable decisions in the past, he now has a need to do what is right. In a Storm of Swords, Lannister begins to put things in motion that will change the House of  Lannister  forever.

Samwell Tarley, a sworn brother of the Nightwatch, was impressive with his bravery. In the book he’s referred to as the  fat steward, keeper of ravens, and mocked as Ser Piggy. Well let me you tell you, that little Piggy got brave real fast. No matter what was thrown his way, Tarley kept chugging on and fighting the good fat. Even when you thought he wasn’t going to make it, he pulled through.

There were some WTF moments. Be warned. You’re not going to be happy about some of George R.R. Martin’s decision about the characters. No one is safe in the is novel. Just when you started to really get comfortable with a character, Martin got rid of them. There were a lot of jaw dropping moments. I’m no spoiler so I can’t give you nothing.

What I wanted more of but I didn’t get was reading more about the The Others, which are zombie like walkers. In the book they are described as being dead with cold blue eyes. Samwell Tarley’s character has the most interaction with them in the book. It was perhaps the most dramatic scene in the book. I can’t wait to see how it plays out in Season 3 on HBO.

The most difficult part of reading this book was keeping up with the large number of characters that are involved. I appreciated the appendix in the back because it breaks down all  the Kings and their Courts.

Overall, the book gave me what I needed. It was full of drama, action, sex and chaos.

I highly recommend it to folks looking to go on a fun and epic ride.

Great

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones: A Storm of Swords

  1. I have to get into this series. Some of my friends have read and raved about it. I have a slew of Grisham novels I have to polish off first before committing to another author. I must say, though, the way you reviewed it made me want to drop everything to run out and buy it! Your last sentence says it all: “I highly recommend it to folks looking to go on a fun and epic ride.” Nice 🙂

    • Hey Jack.
      I had never heard of the books until HBO picked up the show. I love those type of medieval type settings so I decided to watch. OMG!! I was hooked. I must admit, HBO really gives us outstanding television. After the Season 1 ended, I decided to read the first book. I was quite shocked that the series closely followed the book. Committing to series is a big thing. I think every author must agree to a three novel book deal. LOL. I do believe George R.R. Martin will be write a total of seven books. The fifth one is out. After you spend some time will Grisham, I hope you can read Game of Thrones. Its quite epic. 😉

Leave a Reply

