Living Creatively

Living Creatively

2013 is the year of Living Creatively. I felt it was time to explore my creative side and do the things I’ve always wanted to try. Writing for me is part of my job but I wanted to make it part of my life. As a business writer, I typically do stories about people in the business community and other editorial duties. I like what I do but I wanted to spread my wings creatively.

I knew I loved books and sharing it with people. I just get so excited after reading a novel that I want to tell the world about. Books are like hidden gems. When you find one, its amazing.

That is why I decided to start a blog. The name of the blog came from the American music industry scandal Payola. Basically music companies would pay radio stations to play their artist music. Not only was money exchanged but radio stations received other benefits. The tagline was “Bribes, Booze and Broads.” I know its a weird connection but that’s how I came up with Books, Booze and Beauty. I wanted to not only write about books but throw in some spicy topics to make it fun.

I’m so happy I did it. So far, this journey has been amazing. I’ve been enjoying my creative outlet and reading other fascinating blogs along the way. I have connected with folks from various blogs including Bookish Feelings Recorded, Jack Flacco, and Fifty5Cents.

Besides writing, I’m looking to be creative in different ways. This past Saturday I decided to do something I’ve been longing to do for years. I got my first tattoo. YES!!!! Instead of constantly thinking about it, I just went for it. It wasn’t bad at all. I wanted to get something small and opted for a Gemini symbol. Yeah its not a Picasso but hey, its what I wanted.

first tattoo

Jeremy from Army & Navy Tattoo in Yorktown

I liked it so much that today, I went back to get this added. Jeremy did the words for free. Aint that something. Such a sweetheart.

Tattoo 2

Living freely is not an easy thing to do but a necessary one. Life is too short. We only get one life so why not make the best of it. I know I will try. For all the folks out there who have followed me or commented on my blog, I thank you.

6 thoughts on “Living Creatively

    • No problem. I’m really liking it so far. I have a few followers. I’m not following everybody because honestly, I don’t have much in common with fashion people. LOL. I think folks believe if someone follows you, you must follow back. I just don’t want to do that because I know I wont read it or comment. I might blog on that topic.

  1. Thanks for mentioning my blog, Lakeshia! ^_^ And I’m a gemini, too! Woohoo, Gemini rocks! 😉 But I don’t think I can handle a tattoo, haha! I’m kinda scared of needles! Oh, but I’m gonna see one today, for a vaccine. *scared*

Leave a Reply

