WWW Wednesdays

www_wednesdays41 WWW Wednesdays is a weekly event where you share (1)What you’re currently reading, (2)What you recently finished reading, and (3)What you think you’ll read next.

A Storm of Swords

Right now I’m still reading A Storm of Swords. This whopper of a book is taking me some time to get through. Hopefully I will be finished in a bit and I can give you my opinion of the novel. I must say I’m feeling Martin right now. I’m really looking forward to seeing what characters he decides to kill off. I’m crossing fingers and toes hoping he keeps Jamie Lannister. Lets be honest, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau who plays Jamie is easy on the eyes. Ooooh la la. Once you get past the whole incest thing with his sister Cersei, he’s quite appealing. Just saying.

Jaime-Lannister-game-of-thrones-20317262-1280-720

The last book I read was Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion. To get a sneak peek at the first four minutes of the film, check out the Warm Bodies website. Its pretty cool.

After I’m done with A Storm of Swords, I’m looking forward to reading, Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. Now get your mind out of the gutter. Its definitely not a Fifty Shades of Grey-esque novel. Been there and done that. Quite honestly, I’m a little over the whole S&M thing.

Anywho, check out the synopsis:

Shades of Grey

Lina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home, tearing her family from the comfortable life they’ve known. Separated from her father, forced onto a crowded and dirty train car, Lina, her mother, and her young brother slowly make their way north, crossing the Arctic Circle, to a work camp in the coldest reaches of Siberia. Here they are forced, under Stalin’s orders, to dig for beets and fight for their lives under the cruelest of conditions.

Lina finds solace in her art, meticulously–and at great risk–documenting events by drawing, hoping these messages will make their way to her father’s prison camp to let him know they are still alive. It is a long and harrowing journey, spanning years and covering 6,500 miles, but it is through incredible strength, love, and hope that Lina ultimately survives.Between Shades of Gray is a novel that will steal your breath and capture your heart. (Courtesy of Goodreads)

I love historical fiction based novels full of drama where the author weaves fiction with fact. I also enjoy reading about strong female heroines overcoming obstacles. I’m pretty confident this will be a good read.

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays

  1. Ooooh la la! *grins* I’ve never read a zombie novel, but because of the film, I’m also considering reading Warm Bodies, or perhaps World War Z.

    Oh, I wanna read Between Shades of Gray soon! But I’m trying to finish books for review first *sigh* I’ve recently read another historical fiction – The Hangman in the Mirror. I’m starting to like historical fiction, too. 🙂

    • You should check out Warm Bodies. Its definitely a toned down version of a zombie novel. Not too graphic or gross. Its marketed for the right demographic. I also read Dearly Departed by Lia Habel. Its a zombie romance novel as well. I fell in love with the cover and decided to check it out. I also have the sequel Dearly Beloved. I haven’t read it yet. I want to read World War of Z but I wasn’t feeling it after skimming through a few pages in the bookstore. I may give it a read.

      • I checked out Dearly Departed and yes, the cover looks nice. A toned down version? Hmm, perhaps I’ll try that. I was never into zombie stuffs even in film or tv series, but maybe this is the time to try one. Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

