Hollywood Natural Beauty

Viola Davis

Oscars 2012 Vera Wang Gown

Sex in the City’s Carrie Bradshaw would have gone bonkers over Viola Davis in a Vera Wang gown and natural hair look she wore to the 2012 Oscars. Davis was quoted as saying “I wanted to step into who I am.” And she was stepping tall and fierce with that look. I admire any woman who can “own” her natural hair and wear it with pride. Not too many of us sisters can do it. I must admit, a relaxer is my best friend. Hell it’s a friend to a lot of black girls out here.

Viola-Davis-2012-Oscar-Dress-751

That year Davis was nominated in the Best Actress category for her role in the film adaptation of The Help. She definitely had the Za-Zoom thing going on.

I first noticed Davis a few years back for her supporting role in Doubt. She played the mother of a son who a Catholic nun assumed was being molested by a priest. Davis was only on screen for about eight minutes. During that brief time, she gave a powerful performance that earned her an Oscar nomination for Best Support Actress. I remember sitting up straight in the theater during that scene and thinking that woman up there was acting her ass off. I mean she was crying and had snot running out of her nose. Nothing was pretty about that scene but it was powerful and memorable.

Check it out:

Since then, Davis has continued to amaze us with her talents. I truly think she is one of the most beautiful woman in Hollywood. As a dark-skinned woman, I like the fact that she takes chances and wears bold bright colors that shows off her velvet skin.

Viola-Davis-Jewelry-2012Globes

2012 Golden Globes

vwvioladavis

Official 2012 Oscar portrait. Photo: Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

Let me be frank. I am so sick of Hollywood thinking that only light-skinned women like Beyonce and Halle Berry are the only good looking women in the black community. We come in all different shades and flavors. Davis is like a smooth piece of dark chocolate that melts in your mouth.

This year, Davis will be starring in the film adaptation of Beautiful Creatures, which hits theaters February 13th. I have no doubt, Davis will have a long career.

Beautiful-Creatures-Poster-Viola-Davis

Leave a comment