My Favorite Find (Jan. 19, 2013)

favefinds2 My Favorite ‘Find’ (Saturdays) is a spinoff of Friday Finds. It showcases that one drool-worthy book that stood out for me from my Friday Finds that week.

Splintered

I do believe I stumbled across this book on Goodreads. The cover grabs your attention first. you have this waif-like girl with bright eyes and ruby red lips, surrounded by bold colored insects framing her face and in her hair. Its a picture I could frame and put on my wall. It has a deviantART quality to it. A mixture of dark and lovely. The enticing cover makes you want to peak inside the dust jacket to see what its about. Well I love to Google every thing and found that the cover is the work of artist Nathalia Suellen.

Synopsis 

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

The first thought that ran through my mind was here was another author taking a well known fairy tale and putting their own spin on it. Its the new thing nowadays. I recently read Alice in Zombieland  (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) a few months back. I know what you’re thinking, Alice and zombies? How in the world can they pull that off.

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Author Gena Showalter didn’t revamp the story. What she did instead was give us an entirely different story about Alice, a young girl who has suddenly lost her entire family to demons her father told her existed. Showalter uses different themes from the original Alice in Wonderland story to spice it up a bit. I must say I really enjoyed reading the book. I love the genre Young Adult but sometimes they dumb the characters down too much. I appreciate Showalter giving us a more realistic version of teenagers by giving them great expressive language. She basically keeps it real. The sequel Through the Zombie Glass (White Chronicles #2) comes out in 2013.

If you’re like me, you have lots of TBR sitting around waiting to be read. I’m itching to add Splintered to the list.

Until next time, Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Find (Jan. 19, 2013)

  1. Ohh, now it’s my turn to say, “Great minds think alike.” 🙂 I also featured this in my cover love post last week. “A mixture of dark and lovely.” Definitely!

    • I saw it was one if your fav covers. I found the book awhile back and thought it looked interesting. I also Googled the artist who did the cover. I might buy some of get stuff. I really like it.

Leave a Reply

