Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

warm bodies pic

Synopsis:

A zombie who yearns for a better life ends up falling in love—with a human—in this astonishingly original debut novel.

R is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He doesn’t enjoy killing people; he enjoys riding escalators and listening to Frank Sinatra. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Not just another zombie novel, Warm Bodies is funny, scary, and deeply moving.

Courtesy of Goodreads.com

My Thoughts

“I am dead, but its not so bad.” These are the thoughts of “R,” a slightly decomposed male zombie who wanders aimlessly around in an airport. Hold up. So zombies have thoughts?  Well apparently they do in this novel. Not only that, he has a best friend “M” who he hooks up with occasionally to hold small talk which is basically a series of grunts and a few words. Plus he has issues with eating people. R knows he needs the food to stay alive but he has so much remorse over it. In the middle of one of his feedings, he meets Julie, falls in love and it changes both of their worlds.

This is DEFINITELY not your typical zombie story. Most of us are familiar with George Romero’s Night of the Living Dead, where zombies aren’t looking for love but want to chew and rip your limbs apart. In Isaac Marion’s novel, he gives us a different perspective by showing readers that perhaps zombies aren’t just walkers looking for their next meal but individuals who had lives before their untimely demise.

I never even heard of Warm Bodies until I saw the trailer at the Twilight Breaking Dawn 2 movie. Is it me, or does the promotional poster look eerily like the early Twilight poster? You be the judge:

twilight-marathon-poster

The novel is more adult than young adult fiction. Some of the language is graphic and it contain some sexual suggestive scenes. In the film version, I noticed that the characters are much younger. I’m sure Hollywood is trying to capitalize on the tween dollars and bring in the Twilight crowd.

The book was enjoyable. I appreciated Marion’s take on zombies. Some of the mild sexual scenes between the zombies was an EWWW moment. I was like WTH?! I don’t want to spoil it for readers but there were some other parts that made me raise my eyebrows. Its a fun read. I have a feeling people will flock to the theaters to see it. Nicholas Hoult who plays “R” is easy on the eyes. So yup I will be checking it out.

If you have’t seen the trailer yet, check it out below:

6 thoughts on “Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

  1. I guess I’ll go check this out with you. May have to download the book on the kindle 1st. Sounds “twilightish” so it may not be too bad. Not a bad job on this….I read everything….except the drink list lol. U know I don’t drink.

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays « Books, Booze & Beauty

  3. Pingback: The New Hunger by Isaac Marion « Books, Booze & Beauty

  4. I convinced my boyfriend to watch this today with me! And he was like, “You’ve made me watch vampires in twilight before, now zombies? What’s next?” LOL! The movie was really funny though. Will think more about it tonight. 😉

    • I’m glad you liked the movie. I went to see it on Saturday. I really enjoyed it. The zombies weren’t too gross. LOL. The Walking Dead zombies are gross. I love that show too.

Leave a Reply

